The Empress’s New Clothes.

Fiona Dobson
4 min readMar 21, 2024

It’s the old trouble. She doesn’t want you to dress, or doesn’t know you dress. And yet you know you want to slip into something more comfortable, but feel unable to do so.

Don’t worry, you can still find ways to get that Femme Fix. Sometimes we forget, it’s not all about clothes. In fact, the aesthetic is only a small part of this journey. The giant strides forward come as we realise it’s not what we wear, but how we feel that matters. I always feel at my most feminine as I find myself expressing my true self in ways other than just the clothing I am wearing. I love to put on a little make up or wear a little scent. And many times this can be so subtle that it is barely noticeable. The entire process helps me feel that feminine rush.

You don’t have to feel bad just because you can’t dress. This journey looks different for each of us. For some of us it is as subtle as the way we think about things, rather than how we dress. When we listen to people talk about trans people and those of us in the gender non-conforming space one often hears the phrase, how they ‘present’. This is usually from people that have little familiarity or understanding of those of us who allow this side of ourselves to develop. In this instance the term ‘present‘ is about how others see us. What really counts is how YOU feel, not how people see you. That’s a secondary aspect.

--

--

Fiona Dobson

The trans blog you’ll love even if you’ve never tried on your sister’s panties. http://FionaDobson.com